Referencing Oddities

Greetings. I’m new to this whole scripting thing, but I’m learning bit by bit. I’m currently messing around with referencing and, while I have a basic understanding of how it works, my current script produces curious results. Script using the reference:

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;

public class ObjectManager : MonoBehaviour {

public PlayerController playerController; //script I am referencing

AudioSource audioSource; //an audio source is attached to the game object holding this script

void Start () {
        audioSource = GetComponent<AudioSource>();
    }

void Update () {
        playAudio();
    }

void playAudio(){
        if (playerController.count == 5){
            audioSource.Play();
        }
    }
}

And here is the relevant section of PlayerController in regards to my “count” variable:

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;
using UnityEngine.UI;

public class PlayerController : MonoBehaviour
{
    public int count;

void Start(){     
        count = 0;
    }

void OnTriggerEnter2D(Collider2D other){
        if (other.gameObject.CompareTag("Sprite")){
            other.gameObject.SetActive(false);

count++;
        }
}    

And of course, I dragged the object with the PlayerController script attached into the ObjectManager script component via Unity’s inspector. Count is properly incrementing according to the public variable’s inspector window. However, this code isn’t working as expected. Here are the problems I have encountered:

1. The Audio clip will not play unless “count” is one integer greater than the condition specified in the “if” statement. So “if (playerController.count == 5)” will not be true until score is 6 for some odd reason.