Route Mapping to create a Safety Map for AI?

Hi, I am new to Unity and programming (not that new but unexperienced) and working on 2nd Unity tutorial; Space Shooter. I want to make an enemy ship AI to detect and avoid collisions with asteroids. To do that I thought of a safety map(as a minimap or another view/layer by a button) drawn considering asteroids routes with coloring. Here a view of scene:

And the map I want to make:

48234-map-sample.jpg

Note: I drew it like 3 objects spawned at the same time thats why coloring goes same with every route.

So, my initial idea is to calculate routes of every asteroid by their positions frame by frame when are instantiated and update when a collision occurs. Then coloring it relative to distance from the ship by updating every frame. Then make the ship move to safest area; primarily green areas, secondarily closer and lighter colored areas.

I believe I can figure navigation/AI out myself when I get the needed parameters or at least I want to, as fas as I can do, to challenge myself, learn/discover by myself. So my first objective and the part I need help is mapping.

For a clear recap; my goals are mapping routes of asteroids and coloring the map. If you can help me by giving ideas or some leads to follow, I appreciate. I am not sure which ways to follow, what to use as I am not well experienced. Atm efficiency is not much important as long as the solutions work. Thank you for at least reading this far and I apologise for my language and my bad expressions if I messed up.