Sendmessage performance

Hi Guys,

I’m relatively new to Unity development. I’ve got a bit of experience with c# (mostly visual c# / windows programs) and have been trying to write my own RTS game, mostly as a learning experience.

I’m currently just trying to build standard RTS controls. One of which is selecting all units of a certain type on screen when you hold the ctrl button. So, this is from my Update section:

if(Input.GetKey ("left ctrl"))					
{
	Plane[] planes = GeometryUtility.CalculateFrustumPlanes (camera);	
	foreach (GameObject g in _allunits)
	{
		if(GeometryUtility.TestPlanesAABB(planes, g.collider.bounds))
		{
			g.GetComponent ("unit").SendMessage ("UnitSelected",true);
			_selectedunits.Add (g);
		}
	}
}

Now, I only have 133 units in _allunits (all the same type, so I’m not checking that in the code yet) and while the above works, when I zoom out a bit to see all the units and try it, there’s almost a second delay before anything happens. During this time, any animation / camera movement freezes.

I initially thought that looping through _allunits was causing the problem, but it appears to be the send message / getcomponent.

Can anyone suggest something that may help me out here? I’ve tried:

(unit)g.getcomponent(“unit”).UnitSelected(true);

and a couple of variations, but they all seem to cause the same amount of delay.

Cheers
Ross

Are you absolutely sure the lag isn’t from doing hundreds of debug messages in a single frame? Debug is very often the cause of significant lag like you describe. Doing the I/O to write to the editor log file does take a relatively significant amount of time.

I don’t know if this will boost performance, but you could try:

(unit)g.GetComponent<unit>().UnitSelected(true);

If that doesn’t work, I’d look through any performance snags in the UnitSelected() function itself. This may require digging.