server connecting issue

I have a multiplayer game set up with 2 computers, one hosting a master server and another connecting to it. There’s no issue when I try starting the server on PC1 and connecting PC2 to it. But when I start the server on PC2 and have PC1 try to connecting to it, the error “The connection request to 192.168.0.101: 25000 failed. Are you sure the server can be connected to?” comes up.

I’ve tried turning off the firewall on both computers and disabling any anti-virus programs but still no luck.

Has anybody run into this issue?

Greetings

I’m not a Unity expert yet, but I am a network professional so I thought I’d weigh in with the fundamental network things to check.

The first thing to figure out is whether the server is listening on the port you think it is (port 25000 in this case). Ports below 1024 are “privileged ports”, and opening a socket on those requires admin privileges on the server. Since you are using port 25000, that’s not an issue here but I mention it for completeness.

The server could fail to listen on a port because it isn’t configured to do so, but I assume you’ve checked that. Where are you specifying your port choice, and does that config setting exist on both of your test servers?