Snapping Walls Together

Hello, I'm brand new to Unity and I am trying to create a construction type game.

What I want is to be able to create walls in game and be able to place them wherever according to a grid system. What really gets me is how to make it so that the walls snap together well to create fluid corners (90* is fine) or "T" or "+" intersections.

I understand that this type of snapping together requires a grid based game.

I would Also like to be able to create walls this way in game as well as in the editor, is that possible?

I'm no expert at scripting, so I could really use the help, Thanks a million

Without an understanding of a scripting language you are going to have a difficult creating a form of procedural or user created content system. This type of system is going to heavily integrate into how you store and interact with your map through out the game.

That being said, I would recommend going with a simple tile approach for generating and managing the map. I’ve implemented this in a couple ways and it has worked well for me.

Sharing an entire script implementation here would be tough, but I can cover the concepts.

Define the size of your game space grid (ie. 30 tiles by 30 tiles) Then you box this area in with a static object (or dynamically created if your size changes). Easiest being to start your map at 0,0 and expand positive in the X and Z directions.

Once you have that you need to define what your Tile Scale is. Tile Scale would refer to the size of a 3D object that takes up 1 tile. For example if your tiles are 3.0 by 3.0 units that would be a 3 tile scale. If they are 1 by 1 then it’s 1. Your 3D models should fit that tile scale, ie. a wall is Tile Scale units by Tile Scale units.