Struggling with lerp on gyroscope.attitude

I’m new to Unity and scripting in general, and I’m trying to make a simple game where there’s a circle on screen, that as you turn your phone around the Z axis the circle turns proportionally (testing using Unity Remote with a Samsung Galaxy S3). So I began with gyroscope input, something like this;

void Update () 
{ 
	Vector3 controlRot = new Vector3(0.0f, 0.0f, -(gyros.rotationRateUnbiased.z));
	powerup.transform.eulerAngles += controlRot;
}

Simple enough (aside from the fact that I shouldn’t be initializing my vector3 every frame but I digress), it was susceptible to gyro drift, so after doing some more research I found that the solution seemed to be using gyroscope.attitude, a feature within Unity that already does a degree of sensor fusion to compensate. So when I modified my code to use that instead, I found that it didn’t update as frequently, so it was fairly choppy, but didn’t seem to have the same drift issues.

So here’s where we get to the new problem; now I want to lerp between updates, so it seems more fluid. But I’ve come up on a hitch where I don’t know how to approach it. I’m not sure whether I should be:

-Applying the gyro input to the gameobject and then lerping between gameobject positions;

-lerping between gyro updates and applying the lerp vector to the gameobject’s eulerAngles;

-lerping between a zero vector and the gyro update?;

I’m not certain, but here’s what I ended up with on my most recent attempt which was definitely a flop:

void Update()
{
    Vector3 controlRot = new Vector3(0.0f, 0.0f, gyros.attitude.z*180);
	Vector3 testRot = Vector3.Lerp (Vector3.zero, controlRot, Time.deltaTime);
	outerSphere.transform.eulerAngles += testRot;
}

Because the nature of attitude as opposed to gyroscope.rotationRate, when I use the += function it just continues to turn depending on the magnitude of the phone, similar to a steering wheel, which is to be expected, but not what I want.