touch.position, Mathf.Abs... Please Help Me!!

Hello,

I’m very new to this. I don’t know much about scripting, but I’m starting to wrap my head around it.

I’m having trouble with detecting a swipe. I’m not getting errors in my script, but it doesn’t seem to be calculating Mathf.Abs properly and therefore I’m not achieving the desired effect.

I narrowed it down and I believe that it is a problem with what touch.position is returning. This is what I’m doing:

If I want to get a vertical swipe I get the start touch.position and end touch.position and subtract the end position ( x ) from the start position ( x ) and see if it is less than a specific pixel value (200 pixels for example). If it is less than the pixel value, then it is considered to be a swipe. I do the same for horizontal swipes. (there are other conditions that have to be met in order for a swipe to be recognized, but this is the only problematic condition)

The problem is that the end touch.position is always returning a larger number for x than for y regardless of wether it is a vertical or horizontal swipe. My understanding is that touch.position returns the Vector 2 like this (x,y).

Is there anybody out there that can help??? Please provide an example for the ultra newb.

Here is my code:

#pragma strict

function Start () {

}
var touchedObj: boolean = false; // Has the object been touched

var moving: boolean = false; // this has to be true to move

var comfortZoneVerticalSwipe: float = 500; // the vertical swipe will have to be inside a 50 pixels horizontal boundary

var comfortZoneHorizontalSwipe: float = 50; // the horizontal swipe will have to be inside a 50 pixels vertical boundary

var minSwipeDistance: float = 14; // the swipe distance will have to be longer than this for it to be considered a swipe

var maxSwipeTime: float = 10; // the swipe time will have to be less than this to be considered a swipe