Touch to place coins on a board game dynamically

Hi,

I’m new to Unity and I want a little help with an approach to solve a problem. I’m building a board game in which user clicks on a board (Board is full of 36 numbers in square boxes. 3 columns and 12 rows) and I have to place coins one over the other at the touched number. Now the complex problem is that user can click on the junction between numbers. So if user clicks on the line between 2 numbers, or on a junction point between four numbers, I have to be able to detect it, place coins and send information that the coin was placed on 4 number junction/ 2 number junction etc. Please help me understand with an approach to this problem. The board table is a sprite.

I think you should setup an array of X, Y positions that represent the center of your square boxes.

Then you have to figure out when to register a click on a number and when to register a click on a line or junction. Let’s say your numbers are 1 unit apart (0x,0y is a square, 0,1 is a square, 1,0 is a square, 1,1 is a square, etc.), now you can find the closest square, 2nd closest square, 3rd closest square, 4th closest square to the user click by means of a for loop, looping through the array of x positions and y positions.

Then, if for example the click was at a distance of more than 0.3f away from the center of the closest square in the X or the Y (you’ll have to play with this value to find the sweet spot, but let’s just say that an offset of 0.3f in the y or 0.3f in the x is considered off the square, giving your square 0.6f in the x and 0.6f in the y directions to register a click), now you know that you are clicking on a line or junction.