Triggers and Other Game Objects

I have been programming for over 15 years and things seemed pretty straight forward to start with in Unity, but I have run into a learning curve snag. I am attempting to put together a short C# script that will answer many questions for me as to how to properly code these projects and have a two part question.

As a simple example I will have 2 objects, a point light and a cube. The cube will be invisible or not, that part is irrelevant. When the player walks through the cube the light will come on.

The script should be straight forward, changing the intensity of the light from 0 to any larger number. Here’s my issues. I assume that the cube should be a “trigger” and the script is attached to the cube, not the light. I both named the light and gave it a tag. It seemed that reference wants me to use “FindWithTag” to create a reference to the light. I do that just fine with no errors, but when adding the Instantiate line to the script I get an ““Only assignment, call, increment, decrement, and new object expressions can be used as a statement”” error. I assume that the line
public GameObject myitem=GameObject.FindWithTag("Finish");
would inherit all the attributes of the original object(I used the tag “Finish” for the light, just to be quick). However, if I then try something like thelight.intensity=100;
I get an error stating that there is no
reference “intensity.”

The whole thing is a little confusing to me and the documentation is put together in an odd sort of way.

The second part of the question is simply whether I need to call an onCollision or not, it would seem that calling that function would simply be redundant. Thanks in advance. i choose to work on this short example because it will literally answer about a dozen questions for a person like me and open the whole deal up for me.