Trying to write my first (simple) script: Return to main menu

Bear with me here.

I know the best answer will be “study the tutorials, don’t clog up the forums,” and I get that, I appreciate that. Unfortunately I often have a heck of a time sitting through them. Though I try, and am respectful of everyone’s time and bandwidth.
Decided to test my hand at a touch of scripting in js with just a simple script, but I have zero knowledge of it. (Used to do a bit of programming in Atari Basic, and know enough about Ruby to hurt myself) Essentially, I just want to make a script that, when I hit the game over screen, pressing the “enter” button will send the player back to the main menu. Here is the script:

if(Input.GetKeyDown("enter"))
{
Application.LoadLevel(0);

}

Don’t laugh. I know, it’s probably something close, I’m just not there yet. I figure the way I best learn, trial, error, and mistakes are my friend. Thanks for anyone willing to help. God bless.

As was mentioned in the answer @DESTRUKTORR provided, just make sure you put your code in the Update() function and attach it to a GameObject for it to work. There are some interesting things you have to keep in mind when using the input button names rather than KeyCodes. For instance:

function Update()
{
  // Examples using button names

// Check to see if the "enter"
  // key on the numberpad is down
  {
  }

// Check to see if the "enter"
  // key on the main keyboard is down
  if(Input.GetKeyDown("return"))
  {
  }

}

Using KeyCodes there is a bit more delineation between the numberpad keys and the keyboard:

function Update () 
{
	// Check if the "enter" key 
	//on the numberpad is down
	if(Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.KeypadEnter))
	{
	}

// Check if the "enter" key
	// on the keyboard is down
    if(Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Return))
    {
    }
}

EDIT: You can find all the KeyCodes and Key Names here for future reference: Unity - Input

You need to put it in a function that is called at run-time. Try this: