Unity 8-Directional Locked Movement (Super Mario 3D World Style)

Hey everyone. I’ve been struggling for the past few days on something I didn’t think would be too difficult but has turned out to be anyway. I know exactly what I want to make and I have a lot of experience in Unity, but I cannot figure out the solution to this problem at all. Here are the details:

• I am trying to create a top-down character controller where the player can only move in 8 directions using WASD in the input manager to control.
  • The player always faces the direction they are going, like Diablo or Super Mario.
  • However, I still want to lerp, or blend, between the 8 different directions to make everything look smooth.

The main problem I keep having is if I slightly tap a key to move diagonally, the player doesn’t complete the rotation towards the diagonal angle and stops between 2 of the 8 directions. Instead of being at a 90 or 45 degrees angle, if you slightly touch the key, the player doesn’t finish rotating into that new position and will get stuck in obscure angles like 72 or whatever.

I guess what I am trying to say is I need some sort of way to move the player smoothly in 8 directions, but still is certain to end up on a solid 45, 90, 135, etc. angle. I have tried everything I can think of but I still have no idea how to go about doing this.

TL;DR: Here is a video that shows the game Super Mario 3D World’s movement, which is EXACTLY what I’m looking for. Notice how Mario always is locked to facing 8 directions but also smoothly rotates between those directions. Thanks a lot for reading this! I hope someone knows a way to do this.

Well, it would be interesting how you actually implemented the rotation. If you create a Vector3 out of the two key axis the vector you just have to clamp it to one of those 8 directions.

Vector3 targetDir;

void Update()
{
    Vector3 inputDir = new Vector3(Input.GetAxis("Horizontal"), 0, Input.GetAxis("Vertical"));