Unity C# - Filling enum with Array data

This is my code, I know I can just add the names to myEnum but thats not the point of what I want to do. I’m trying to keep this all public and fill from a list so I can simple select, for example, a gameobject the player will spawn holding etc etc.

string[] names = {"Matt", "Joanne", "Robert"};

public enum myEnum {names};
public myEnum[] WepSlot;

I’m new to enum. for some reason, instead of myEnum taking the whole array in names, it just takes the word (names) which is kinda funny, but not what I want. I want the myEnum to populate with the array (names), I was wondering if this is possible and if so, how?

No you cannot do this. An enum is not an array of strings or other values and needs to be specified exclusively and cannot depend on other variables. It takes the word “Names” because you have given it the word “Names” where you are supposed to declare the enum values.

You can however define all the enum values and then put all those values in an array later at runtime:

public enum MyEnum { Matt, Joanne, Robert };

public MyEnum[] myEnums;

private void Start()
{
    myEnums = (MyEnum[])System.Enum.GetValues(typeof(MyEnum));
}

myEnums will now contain a list of all the different enum values.

An enum is an enumeration of constants.

In other words, a group of values which cannot be changed at runtime.

In the context which you’ve provided, 'myEnum' is the name of your enumeration, and it contains a single constant named 'names'. Since you did not assign a value to 'myEnum.names', it defaults as an integer with a value of zero…

If you were to do the following:

public enum myEnum {names, ages};

then myEnum.names would still equal zero, but myEnum.ages would equal 1 because it is next in the list and also was never assigned a value.

You could just as equally assign values to these entries, like so:

public enum myEnum {names=10, ages=3};