Unity Compiling Confusion

I’ve been using Unity for around 3 years now and I always notice games which are structured the same way as Unity-compiled games. Let me explain, when I compile my Unity games, the final product (for PC) is the exe file and the Data folder, right.

I’ve seen games like Audiosurf 2, Distance, Kerbal Space and Race The Sun which do have the Data folder and the exe file but they have a lot of other folders e.g. Sounds, Objects, Plugins, Internals etc.
So are these games created with Unity?
If so, what plugin/code did the creators use to get in all the files/folders to be read by the game.
If not, what program did they use to get the same compling structure, or is that default in most game design programs?

I’m experienced with Unity but not with the whole folder structure business. Please teach (or at least direct) me in the basics of how Unity renders games.

I think they load everything dynamically. This is good solution when you have to change your asset.

Let’s imagine, you compile a very big game BUT you need to change one sound (for example) after the build.

This could be a problem when all your asset are built with the project.
With a dynamic asset system, you just replace your sound and that’s it.

As you know, there are a lot of way to load dynamically asset : AssetBundles, Resources folder, WWW, etc…

But this is just an idea and supposition.

To check if a game is build in Windows, download a dependency walker (or similar app):
http://www.dependencywalker.com/
and see if the Unity libraries show up as dependencies for that executable. I think all you do is drag the main .exe game application file into the depends window, been a while since I used it. You may also see other game engines linked in and be able to tell which game engine is used that way.