Unity Good Code Architecture

Context, I’m primarily a C# API dev and I’m busy working on a 2D Unity game. My knowledge of Unity is mostly cobbled together from various tutorials and random googling over the years.

The game I’m working on is coming along pretty well and I’ve ended up veering away from Monobehaviours for most my logic, partially due to familiarity, not knowing how to automate testing on Monobehaviours, a penchant for a spot of generic polymorphism and a distrust for Unity’s object life cycle.

For the most part I’ve gotten things to a point where it makes me warm and fuzzy.

There are some parts though where I’m stuck on “what’s a nice way of doing this?” I can think of numerous ways of making it work, but none of them sparks joy.

Specifically I’m stuck on assets and very specifically on access to “global” assets, like icon sprites. I dislike using the UI for creating references as I’ve found it to be flakey and difficult to maintain at a large scale. I’m currently using a scriptable object to cart them around, but it also feels iffy. What’s the best way to handle this?

More generally, can someone perhaps recommend some practical examples of well designed, complex Unity games? I’ve found many tutorials and examples but they all seem to be either very simple or written in a way that will become awful the moment it scales up.

(Also, I’ve ended up writing my entire game in a UI Canvas (as it’s 2D and a very… UI game), is there a massive detrimental consequence to this that I’m missing?)

How I would do this is to make some kind of game controller object and game controller script that basically acts as the master control for everything. This works really well for games where there needs to be a lot of things happening and interacting at once, because it can reduce lag by making all interactions controlled by only one object.