Unity not picking up NVIDIA display adapter

Hi Folks,

Noob here, so apologies for cluelessness … I am migrating over to a new laptop. The laptop has an NVIDIA GeForce GT 520M display adapter. It also has the Intel HD Graphics Family on it - although I am a little confused as to what it means to have both.

Problem is graphics seems very poor on the machine despite the NVIDIA display adapter supposedly having 512MB of dedicated memory.

Couple of other elements:

1. when I open a Unity log file (after running content in a web player) the log file shows the following:

Direct3D:
    Version: Direct3D 9.0c [igdumdx32.dll 8.15.10.2266]
    Renderer: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
    Vendor: Intel
    VRAM: 64 MB (via DXGI)
    Caps: Shader=30 DepthRT=1 NativeDepth=1 NativeShadow=1 DF16=1 DF24=1 INTZ=1 RAWZ=0 NULL=1 RESZ=1 SlowINTZ=0

2. When I click right in the desktop to select the NVIDIA Control Panel an error message says “You are not currently using a display attached to an NVIDIA GPU”.

→ So it would seem that I am not utilizing the NVIDIA graphics card? Can anyone please advise?

Thanks!

Actually you can fix this problem quite easily. Simply pull up the Nvidia Control Panel (right mouse button on desktop) goto “Manage 3D settings” and either set the Power Management Mode to Maximum Performance OR chose Program Settings and select your browser.exe and assign it MAX Performance. Either way - you will then get Nvidia to support Unity web player.

unity on laptops appears to categorically refuse to use a dedicated GPU.

setting laptop to high performance mode: nope
setting default graphics device to the dedicated GPU (inside navida control panel): nope, reverts to interface.
setting the specific program to run with a specific GPU: nope, reverts to integrated.

launching the program with a specific GPU: runs launcher which fails to launch which in tern reopens the launcher without the designation of a specific GPU (reverts to integrated graphics)