Unity unregistering on its own?

Hi, I’ve been using the free indie Unity3d in a project for a while. Last night, after some SVN problems (entirely unrelated to unity rather to the subversion client) i see that when trying to start unity again to check on the project it’s asking me for registration again.
I originally did the manual activation since I had no internet conection on that pc, following the official instructions, and it worked fine. Until last night when I really had to plug in the net cable.
Now I registered (again) and it seems to be working fine again. But I’ve already been working with that copy until this happened.
There was also a “second” net connection created on my Windows last night as this was happening, not created by me. Does unity connect itself to internet upon detecting a connection available? Or is there a virus that would unregister unity? Don’t think so…

I know I should try answers.unity3d but, just in case

did you upgrade your license, activate a trial, get a unity iphone license or unity android?

all these things will kick your old license and require a new activation.

the same might also be triggered by unity updates if you install them

as for perma connect: at least earlier U3 beta editors used googles tracking api to track basic anonymous usage, likely to handle bugs better and optimize those editor aspects that are most commonly used etc

No, I did none of that. I don’t know what could it be

in that case mail the support I guess