Unity4, what happens if you delete the metadata folder?

What happens these days with Unity4,

if you plain delete the metadata folder of a project ?

When you next launch Unity, will it just slowly rebuild the whole project, or?

Cheers …

I’ve done this multiple times when I was trying to fix my half-broken project, so I would know;

Yes - Unity will reimport all of the assets and the project will rebuild the next time it is launched, if the ‘metadata’ folder is deleted.

It will not help to cut down the file size, as the folder will re-create and grow to about the same size. (According to my personal experience)