Using Unity with a complex database

Hi all,
I am a newbie who’s currently designing a space-based realtime MMO. I’ve been looking at Unity as a way to build the game’s environment but I have a few questions before committing.

The game backend contains a large database, here are a few relevant pieces of information:

• The galaxy in which the gameplay takes place features around 2 million stars, 5 million planets and a few million celestials to begin with.
  • These are all stored in a database and each item has a load of properties, e.g. stars have location (x,y,z), class, subclass, color, surface temperature, age, diameter, solar system modifiers, etc.
  • Each player will have to access this database through the Unity frontend (through a midtier which will take commands and get relevant data from the database)

The data retrieval path is client->server->database->server->client (so no direct connections).

I’m starting small, so the first thing I’d like to implement is galaxy view. In Galaxy view, a player clicks on a button in the GUI and then the GUI renders colored dots, each of the dots representing a star. Each dot will be positioned according to x, y, z, which are relative to the center of the galaxy. Each dot will be colored according to “color” value from the database.
The player should be able to zoom in and out using mouse scroll, rotate the galaxy using left click + drag, pan across using right-click + drag.

When right-clicking a star, more information about that star should be retrieved from the database and displayed in a small pop-up, e.g. age, temperature, class, subclass, chance of having planets.

I’ve been thinking of using an API call with OAuth implementation to make sure players will only see what’s available to them (e.g. visited stars would be blinking).