Version Updates Need some Love

On a couple of my projects I am the sole contributor and I use UVCS as storage.

Now I know I have not Checked In anything for a while and I only need to Check In what I have now on my machine.

But I can’t.

UVCS tells me I need to download certain “updated” files first.

Now here’s the deal. I do not.
I know for a fact whatever is on the server is either outdated or the same.

The only thing I need to do, is upload my current project Exactly as it is on my machine, and completely replace the version on the server.

UVCS won’t have it.

Please provide the option to do exactly that without downloading anything on my local workspace.

If there are other new changesets in your working branch, by default, if you update (or try to check in your pending changes), you will need to merge your local changes with the head of the branch.
You can potentially create a sub-branch to check in your changes, but if you want to check in your changes in the current branch, you are forced to unify your changes with the head of the branch.
If you want to discard all the new changesets in the working branch, you can delete all the new changesets you want to discard or you can use the subtractive merge operation to remove the group of changesets you want to subtract:

But as I said, I have not updated for a while and I know nobody else has updated anything new.

So there should be no other changesets there.

While I love Plastic, in that regard, the old version control system of Unity (Collaborate) was so much better and straight forward.

Merging the (erroneously listed as) new changesets from the server with my local version would destroy all the work and changes I have done locally and that is not something anyone would want.

If you are using the Version Control plugin inside Unity, you can open the “Incoming Changes” view. If there are some items there, it means your workspace is not pointing to the head of the branch. It means somebody created new changesets in the branch or you switched the workspace to a previous changeset at some point.
You can also open the “Changesets” view to figure out where your local workspace is pointing and the details of the new changesets in the branch.

If you want to submit your changes without updating your workspace and download the new changes, open the “Branches” view and create a new branch. You will be able to submit your pending changes in the new branch.

Looks like I am failing miserably at explaining the issue.

Nobody else is on this particular project. Only me.
There are no changes in the head of the project. None whatsoever. Only local changes.

I need to push these changes up to the cloud and can’t because UVC says there are pending changes.

The only thing that may justify this notification is some local copy of files from an older version to replace some things gone haywire during an upgrade. These files may be technically older than the version in the cloud, perhaps due to a different metafile or something, but they are the intended content for upload.

Could you attach a message of the error/warning you are receiving?

Anyway, if you receive a message when you try to check in your changes about "you need to download certain “updated” files first, it means that you are working on the latest version of some files.

I was just explaining some common scenarios why this could happen. If you are the only one working on this project, we can guess what happened, but we cannot be 100% sure.

  • You have some secondary workspace where you submitted some changes, so this workspace is out of date.
  • You switched your workspace to a previous changeset so it’s not updated to the head of the branch.

If you open the “Branch Explorer” view, you can have a better picture about what’s happening.

If you want to submit your changes without updating your workspace and download the new changes, open the “Branches” view and create a new branch. You will be able to submit your pending changes in the new branch.
If you are working on a specific branch, you will always need to download the latest changes (merging them with your current workspace content) before submitting new changes. You cannot ignore the newer changes of this branch if you plan to submit the changes on this branch.

What you can do is potentially delete the latest changesets of the branch if you don’t need them (via the “Branch Explorer” view), so there are no new revisions to download.