Why are unity scripts file executed in single thread?

Hi, I am quite new to unity and programming. The issue, I face more often, is that sometimes I want to execute some specific commands for particular frames, for instance, let’s say I want to deactivate an object for the rest of script life. That gameobject.setActive() will keep on executing for the rest of the frames in the update() . I want to ask why can’t we run the update() in two threads synchronously in such a way that commands like these will get executed in a parallel update process only once so that the object states won’t get updated every frame. Or Maybe we can have a specific function ExeOnlyForfewFrames() and put these statements into them. Sorry if I sound dumb but just curious about that.

Well i’d say we have 2 different answers to this.

The first answers your literal question: Why are scripts file executed in single thread?

We can only really guess about this as Unity afaik does not really put out an explanation but mine would be: For simplicity reasons. If you are a beginner as you claim to be one then multithreading will mess with you - big time. Multithreading puts in another layer of complexity and randomness that even experienced programmers can have a hard time to deal with. Writing threadsafe code is not easy and multithreading is sometimes also not just the simple solution to every problem.

Unity also offers a kind of Multithreading solution with their Job-System (see Burst as well). This can be used to speed up computational tasks which are needy regarding performance.
If you want to go full Job-System you can also just build your game in the ECS instead of the normal MonoBehaviour-System but that is way more difficult and an overkill for most projects.

Now in your post you basically state: “well my code calls “SetActive(false)” each frame so how to multithread”