Why is my rotating camera "bouncing?"

The setup: I have an overhead, downward-angled camera that can rotate around your character in 45 degree increments. It works, but for some reason the camera’s Y position is slightly increasing and then decreasing again as it reaches its new position. This causes a noticeable “bounce,” particularly in the background where a change in height is more apparent.

I’m relatively new to Unity, and entirely new to posting on Answers, so bear with me here.

Here’s the relevant parts of the code:

void Update ()
		{
		if (Input.GetAxisRaw("RotateCamera") != 0 && transform.position == moveTo)
			{rotateCamera();}
		}

void LateUpdate ()
		{
		maintainCameraOffset();

if (transform.position != moveTo)
			{
			transform.position = Vector3.MoveTowards(transform.position, moveTo, rotationSpeed * Time.deltaTime);
			if (Vector3.Distance (transform.position, moveTo) < .0001)
				{
				transform.position = moveTo;
				}
			}

transform.LookAt (target.transform);
		}

public void rotateCamera()
		{
		if (Input.GetAxisRaw("RotateCamera") > 0)
			{
			Vector3 originalPosition = transform.position;
			transform.LookAt(target.transform.position + (Vector3.up * vDistance)); //Look parallel to ground to prevent it from adding more height
			transform.RotateAround(target.transform.position, Vector3.down, 45);
			moveTo = transform.position; //Store the eventual resting place
			transform.position = originalPosition;
			transform.LookAt(target.transform.position);
			}

//Same thing in reverse for the other direction.
		}