Preventing Unity from asking if I want to upgrade my project

Now I have two versions of Unity installed on my computer: version 2.6 and version 3 beta. I want to use the beta only for testing. But if I’m working on a project in 2.6, then start 3, I’m asked whether I want to upgrade the project. The answer is always no. I won’t upgrade my projects until I’m comfortable developing in Unity 3. How do I prevent Unity from asking whether I want to upgrade? Is there a startup setting that makes Unity always ask which project to open rather than always trying to open the last one? My only recourse now is to rename my project when switching from one version of Unity to another so that it can’t find the project.

Sorry if I’ve asked an obvious question and just don’t know about the startup settings.

Note that this isn’t a question that is specific to the beta. It would apply to any computer on which two versions of Unity are installed.

Thanks,

Brian

change the preferences so it brings up the project selection on start instead of opening the last project opened in any unity desktop version.

Thanks. I figured it was something simple that I was overlooking. However, a related issue is that one version of Unity seems to be messing with my layouts. I created a custom layout for a game in 2.6. After working in 3 beta and going back to 2.6, I get an error. It looks like 2.6 is trying to use the last layout selected in 3.

Shouldn’t each version of Unity maintain separate directories for preferences, documents, etc. especially for a major version change from 2 to 3?

– Brian

If you renamed the application too not just the folder, then yes (assuming we talk about osx)