Check if any key is pressed

As the title suggests, how can I check if any key was pressed on this new system? Also how can I know what key it was?

Thank you

1 Like

You can use:

Keyboard.current.anyKey.wasPressedThisFrame

It detects if any key was pressed, but I think it doesn't expose the specific key name? I'm just learning this new Input System myself.

2 Likes

That might work. Do you think there is a way of getting input from any device? Per example:

AnyDevice.current.anyKey.wasPressedThisFrame

Do you think this might be possible?

ATM there's no good, simple way to to that. It's on the list for after 1.0 as it's indeed a hole in the system.

Binding-wise, it is possible to do

var action = new InputAction(type: InputActionType.PassThrough, binding: "*/<Button>");

// In update code:
if (action.triggered) //...

but doing so is very inefficient.

An alternative is doing it at the event level but it requires a good chunk of code.

// Sets m_ButtonPressed as soon as a button is pressed on
// any device.
InputSystem.onEvent +=
    (eventPtr, device) =>
    {
        if (!eventPtr.IsA<StateEvent>() && !eventPtr.IsA<DeltaStateEvent>())
            return;
        var controls = device.allControls;
        var buttonPressPoint = InputSytem.settings.defaultButtonPressPoint;
        for (var i = 0; i < controls.Count; ++i)
        {
            var control = controls[i] as ButtonControl;
            if (control == null || control.synthetic || control.noisy)
                continue;
            if (control.ReadValueFromEvent(eventPtr, out var value) && value >= buttonPressPoint)
            {
                m_ButtonPressed = true;
                break;
            }
        }
    };
1 Like

I don't dislike that second alternative. It's ugly but it looks like it will work.
The thing is I don't understand what most of those things do, stuff like "IsA(), controls.synthetic, controls.noisy...". Are those documented on the new input's API?