New Path Paint Tool

Yesterday afternoon I studied the Terrain Tool Samples from Unity. They are really impressive. While I was toying around with them I saw a huge benefit of combining them and thought why not make something new out of it.

Basically what I created within 3 hours of combining and adapting code is a Path Paint Tool. The idea is this:

Have 3 brushes overlapping:

• inner brush: texture tool
  • middle brush: bridge tool
  • outer brush: smooth tool

To better visualize it, looks like this:

4215118--374227--action.jpg

So the yellow circle is the texture brush, the blue one is the bridge tool, the grey one is the smooth tool. All of them are applied in sequence. To the left is the brush itself, the right disc is the anchor point from where a stroke is painted to the brush location.

The inspector looks like this:

4215118--374230--inspector.png

The result is a Path Paint Tool which you can see here animated:

4215118--374224--pathpainttool.gif

So creating e. g. a motocross track was a matter of a minute :smile:

4215118--374233--moto.jpg

Of course it works with multi tile terrain, that comes out of the box with the awesome Terrain Tool Samples.

A few questions I have in that matter:

• Am I allowed to post this on github for others to use and extend? What I created is a modification of Unity's own toolset. License would of course remain the same.

• Where can one add feature requests? e. g. it would be great if the preview brush would support setting color, saturation and stroke width. Currently it doesn't and I had to modify the shader.

• What is a preferred way to make continuous paint strokes? Sample by distance, sample by time or anything else?

Thank you very much for your feedback :)

15 Likes

I just had to add Vegetation Studio support, ie grass and tree removal along the painting of the path. Adding support was super easy with the API :smile:

4216192--374323--vs.gif

5 Likes

Hey, this is awesome! Great work, and thanks for sharing!