Emotion recognition with FER+ ONNX Model

Hi all,

I am experimenting with getting the FER+ Emotion Recognition model working with Sentis. I’ve got Unity hooked up with the Webcam and the model loaded, but unfortunately I keep getting a “neutral” result regardless of facial expression. The output numbers do vary slightly, but not a lot. This is the code I am using:

Texture2D texture2D = new Texture2D(webcamTexture.width, webcamTexture.height);
texture2D.SetPixels(webcamTexture.GetPixels());
texture2D.Apply();
TextureTransform test = new TextureTransform().SetDimensions(64,64,1);
TensorFloat inputTensor = TextureConverter.ToTensor(texture2D, test );
worker.Execute(inputTensor);
TensorFloat outputTensor = worker.PeekOutput() as TensorFloat;
float[] values = outputTensor.ToReadOnlyArray();

I’m quite new to AI so I’m probably missing something! Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Liam

1 Like

Seems like you’re sending it colour values in the range 0…1 where from the documentation looks like it’s expecting values in the range 0…255. (well to be fair the documentations unclear what it expects!)

Seems like the TextureTransform() could do with specifying an output range for your tensor, e.g. [-1…1], [0…1], [0…255]. Would be a useful feature to have (unless I missed it).

1 Like

Yes looking at the model it looks like it’s expecting input between 0-255 to then re-normalize between -1 and 1
In unity textures are between 0-1 so makes sense your model doesn’t produce the right results.
You have two solutions to this:

• You can use a Op cf ExecuteOperatorOnTensor sample
op.Mul(tensorInput, new TensorFloat(255));
  • You can edit the imported Model
model.constants.Add(new Constant(newconstant_name, new TensorFloat(255));
model.layers.InsertAt(0, new Layers.Mul("newlayer_name", model_input, newconstant_name));
model.layers[1].inputs[0] = "newlayer_name"
2 Likes