How To Revert to Previous Changeset (Commit)

Hello,

I had no issues using Collaborate, but unfortunately Plastic is a nightmare (for me) to use.

I recently made some changes to my project, which is causing some very funky behaviour - I would like to revert to the previous changeset. However, when I right click these changesets, there is no option to “revert” to them. What do I do? I have done some Googling but am getting conflicting answers on how to simply revert to the previous changeset - without cutting any out.

I have tried selecting every change and clicking ‘undo’, but the error persists, so I know the issue was not resolved. I also realize this is a relatively basic question, but I’m pretty desperate for a straightforward answer.

4 Likes

Hi @AardeeHar , we actually just released 1.14.16/1.15.16 of the Version Control package that adds this very feature! You can choose to either Switch to Changeset to load your workspace to an earlier state for comparison, or you can use Go Back to Changeset (which works exactly how Collab’s Go Back To feature in the History tab did) to both revert your workspace to that changeset and list the inverse of all the changes between it and the latest changeset as pending changes. From there, you can pick and choose which changes to keep and which ones to undo.

Try upgrading to the latest Version Control package in the Package Manager to use these features.

Hi,
i just updated the package, and yes, i can now revert to a previous changeset. Very cool, Thank you :slight_smile:

But usually i use the Client App for Mac. Because it just runs better for me when I upload larger files. The Current Version i use is the 11.0.16.6787. Will there be an update for the Mac App anytime soon, where I can revert to change sets via the Mac App instead of the Package Tool?

That’s great! Happy to help!

If you’d prefer to use the external Plastic SCM client then you can still take advantage of both of these features in the version you’re currently on, but Go Back To is referred to as a Subtractive Merge in the client. You can find this option in the client by right-clicking on a changeset and navigating to Advanced merge->Subtractive merge from this changeset. This behaves similarly to the Go Back To feature in the Unity Plugin.

1 Like

Thanks for your fast reply :slight_smile:

But what’s the difference exactly? Can you describe what du you mean by “similarly”? From my understanding, the Subtractive merge is still a merge. As the doc states:

“Subtractive merge is very powerful, but you need to handle it with care. It is very important to understand that it is not just a “revert”. You shouldn’t be using subtractives on a regular basis; it is a tool for just special situations.”

So from my understanding the new package Tool feature is now a HARD RESET (like the same --hard reset with git) to a specific changeset. If this is true, it behaves similarly, but there is still a huge difference between reverting and subtracting a merge, correct? So I should still treat it like that?

You’re correct, there is still a difference between the two. The feature in the Unity Plugin more closely emulates how Go Back To worked with Collab. However, we have not ported this feature back to the Plastic SCM client yet. That’s why the closest similar feature is the Subtractive Merge I mentioned earlier.

I also need to correct what I said earlier. I first said that you could undo changes that you didn’t want to be undone after choosing to go back to an earlier changeset via the Unity Plugin. Essentially allowing you to pick and choose which changes to revert and which ones not to. However, I’ve confirmed that in its current implementation, Go Back in the Plugin requires you to undo all changes at once, or none of them. There’s no support for partial reverting of assets using this method. I apologize for any confusion.

This GO Back to changeset worked like a charm after we did a package manager update. Peeps you can trust this one to save you!

1 Like