Shader Graph Preview always blank

Every time I create a new PBR Graph, I never see anything on the preview:

  • I've saved the shader and re-opened.
  • I've added the lightweight renderer with the Package Manager
  • I've added a Lightweight Pipeline Asset to the Scriptable Render Pipeline Settings in the graphics settings.
  • I see nothing in the preview, but the shader works.

Strangely enough, if I add any other graph I can see a circle. The PBR graph never work though. Anybody have any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Unity: 2018.2.14f1 Personal (64bit)
OS: MacOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Graphics: Radeon Pro 450 2048 MB

Similar Issue hier - any fixes?

Console errors?

Also please report the bug with the bug report function.

[quote]
Console errors?

Also please report the bug with the bug report function.
[/quote]

I just checked and I get a lot of these warnings:

Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 4 (_LightIndexBuffer / PBR Master)
Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 2 (_LightIndexBuffer / Sphere)
Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 3 (_LightIndexBuffer / LightweightPipeline/Standard (Physically Based))

Every time I close the Shader Graph and re-open, I get 4 of the same warnings:

Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 4 (_LightIndexBuffer / PBR Master)

Just in case, you can find the project here.

I also get these images in the preview, if I resize the window, the preview goes blank.

Others have reported the same problem on the official thread but no one has responded with a solution to any of them.

https://discussions.unity.com/t/687913 page-17#post-3529538
https://discussions.unity.com/t/687913 page-21#post-3566262
https://discussions.unity.com/t/687913 page-27#post-3608170

2 Likes

Thanks for sharing Ryiah. Can't do much about it, Unity is still working on it so it's completely understandable. Can't wait to use it the Shader Graph though, seems awesome :(

I know this post is old but it is the first result in google,I still have the same problem in anything superior to the version 2018.2.18, there I can work with the HDR normally but as soon as I try to do the same in superior versions my PBR Master is completely blank, no errors and it seems to work fine, I just don't have any preview at all which make work with shaders very hard as I need to see the effect in the scene

4479691--412225--upload_2019-4-28_23-17-16.png

[quote=“dr4”, post:7, topic: 720338]
I know this post is old but it is the first result in google,I still have the same problem in anything superior to the version 2018.2.18, there I can work with the HDR normally but as soon as I try to do the same in superior versions my PBR Master is completely blank, no errors and it seems to work fine, I just don’t have any preview at all which make work with shaders very hard as I need to see the effect in the scene

[/quote]
I am having the same issue in version 2019.1.1f1 everything is up to date and current in regards to packages.

I've made 3 shaders using shader graph, and #4 is ... blank. No clue why.

1 Like

My properties panel and preview also blank. running newest version 2019. Any clue?

[quote=“tsangwailam”, post:10, topic: 720338]
My properties panel and preview also blank. running newest version 2019. Any clue?
[/quote]
I have the same.

This problem still persists...

Unity 2019.1.5f
HDRP 5.16.1
VFX Graph 5.13.0
macOS 10.13.6

Not a fix but could be useful, try using another type of graph. For me the preview is only broken in PBR Graphs.

Me too, but I need PBR's Alpha Cutout

Try updating unity to the earliest version, worked for me

[quote=“dr4”, post:7, topic: 720338]
I know this post is old but it is the first result in google,I still have the same problem in anything superior to the version 2018.2.18, there I can work with the HDR normally but as soon as I try to do the same in superior versions my PBR Master is completely blank, no errors and it seems to work fine, I just don’t have any preview at all which make work with shaders very hard as I need to see the effect in the scene

[/quote]

Hi,
i had an empty Main Preview today, but i just selected another preview object and got it to work. I Foun out that the plane i used before was shown from the bottom side where its transparent → Main Preview seems to be empty…

I believe the problem is you're using the "normal" PBR Graph, you need to go into HDRP -> Blah Graph.
I think it's for the LWRP maybe.

2 Likes

The problem came for me in LWRP when I started using a Custom Forward Renderer and then it broke. Making a new Custom Forward Renderer with default settings fixes it.
So if you are working on Shaders you need to toggle between your Pipeline renderer using your game custom forward renderer and a default one.

Unity, Are you kidding? Still not working!!!
Unity version 2019.1.9 ! LWRP.
Total blank properties and preview! When will be fix for this? From November previous year!
OS: MacOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6

[quote=“SparrowsNest”, post:17, topic: 720338]
I believe the problem is you’re using the “normal” PBR Graph, you need to go into HDRP → Blah Graph.
I think it’s for the LWRP maybe.
[/quote]

This fixed it for me. I switched over to HDRP for my current project and noticed when I would use PBR Graph nothing would should up like it would with LWRP. I went to HDRP instead and chose one from there and now the Main Preview is working like it’s suppose to.

So, PBR Shader for LWRP and HDRP for HDRP and everything works fine.